gobble gobble!

A few weeks ago, I made the decision to pretend to be American for a day. After all, who doesn’t like turkey? Plus, 14.29% of the dinner party was American, so it was a justified excuse for roasting a turkey. Not that dinner parties or turkey-consumption need justification.

Juggling busy grad-student lives, we postponed Thanksgiving dinner to Friday. Served, of course, with a traditional side of How The Grinch Stole Christmas. Mid-bite with friends, I also realised that this was the closest thing I’ve ever had to a “traditional” thanksgiving, and that the boy and I will likely be hosting other large feasts to come. Although my family does the turkey thing twice a year (for (Canadian) T-giving and Christmas), it’s never with all of the fixings. I was rather pleased with our menu:

  • spinach pear salad topped with walnuts, pomegranate & sauvagine in a simple balsamic-apple butter dressing
  • jasmine & wild rice and mushroom stuffing (loosely inspired by this)
  • pan fried garlic green beans
  • sticky carrots (a la Jamie Oliver)
  • mashed potatoes with sage & caramelized onions
  • (of course) turkey
  • homemade chocolate torte (served with a homemade cranberry sauce)
  • nut brown ale (the boy’s last batch of beer)
  • spiced apple cider

A 12-lb bird generously fed 7, with some leftovers to spare. Only having made turkey once in my life, this rendition turned out rather well – that is, the boy did a fabulous job brining & roasting. Using a basic brine of 1/2 cup salt & 1/2 cup sugar to 1 gallon of water, citrus was added as well; thank goodness we managed (barely!) fit the bird into our 5 gallon stock pot. At 325F, the bird was done in about 2 3/4 hours to 165F.

 

2 comments
  1. mindalab said:

    It sounds like a very good meal. I think a roast Turkey dinner is much better in late Nov. That, combined with a 4 day weekend, is exactly why I think the Americans have it right and the Canadian have Thanksgiving all wrong.

    I just brine in a big Coleman cooler: lots of room. Did you make use of the organ meat for the stuffing? It adds a deep flavour.

    • lindsay said:

      YES! next year we’ll have to turn Canadian TG into a weekend-long event. I’m okay with this. I didn’t think to save the gibbets for stuffing – it was turned into stock with the carcass post-meal. I did, however, use (homemade) chicken stock for the stuffing. Also, I think I’m going to keep splurging on wild rice… so tasty!

share your thoughts!

